February – Thirty Years Later

February 29, 2012 at 12:52 am (Entertainment, General) (, , , , , , )

Whew! What a year 2011 was, and 2012 is starting out to be equally busy!

But I’ve decided to post more blog entries this year. The feedback from WordPress was very encouraging. The stats are good, and I am excited about making my blog more of a presence on the net.

I’ll get started with something I haven’t shared online before. This is a poem I wrote almost exactly thirty years ago this month. (I’ve almost run out of February, for Pete’s sake! Good thing I decided to get on the ball here.)

Without further ado, here is my poem, unchanged, as I wrote it when I was 25…

February

Tall hunter Orion stands
Stiff-legged in the grey night sky.
His sword gleams dully at his side.
I walk
In the cool, clear dusk
Between rows of friendly houses.

Wood smoke.
Smells of simple food being prepared
With care and love
Touch my face
As my footfalls quietly crunch
Rattling gravel.

The city-machine’s growling roar
Is muted
By calm somnolence of Sunday’s lateness.
Where tomorrow, soon, will be
Madly whirling exchanges
Of the business of life
Is now only the dimly neon-lit quietness,
Waiting
Behind tight-locked dark glass doors
Adorned with colorfully sorry plastic signs
Encouraging me to return when
Light and life glitter within.

And now I go
To my own warmly familiar rooms
To sleep an uneasily lonely sleep.

And, rested once again,
My soul nourished by pastel-tinted dreams,
I rejoin my fellow souls, all loved –
Spirits in a gloriously imperfect material world.

(c) 1982, 2012 David Lockman, all rights reserved

Let me know what you think, below. Garbage or gold – go for it.

More soon. I’ve got some nifty little life-hacks to share, some other thoughts, and a blog post about how stories affect our lives. All in my mental queue. Looking forward to sharing with you all.

Image of Orion from http://xiaofury.blogspot.com/
(c) 2010 Natalie N. Johnson

7 Comments

  1. lordhelpus said,

    Wow! Less than 12 hours, and two of my fellow bloggers have “liked” my post! I am really grateful. Thank you so much, guys!

  2. Teri Pittman said,

    I like it! You should do more of it. Those of us in the tech world do too much left-brained stuff and not enough creative work. Good to see this.

  3. Richard said,

    Welcome back to the blogosphere! Nice piece Dave. You know what might be interesting, is to write a new piece about Orion, just as a little experiment to see how or even if your perspective on the great constellation has changes in 30 years.

    Keep writing my friend! Again, welcome back.

  4. lordhelpus said,

    Good idea, Richard! I just might do that. Orion is clearly visible from my front yard, and has been my winter companion for the 21 years I have lived here. And thanks for the “welcome back”. It’s been a crazy, hectic 2011, with lots of changes and challenges. I hope to be more active this year, both in the blogosphere, and in real life.

    All the best, Richard!

  5. February Revisited – Thirty Years On « We All In Trouble… | Dlock's Pop Culture Reflux said,

    […] from the rain-saturated western flanks of the Washington Cascades!  Among the responses to my last post, there was some encouragement to write a sort of “update”, from the perspective of […]

  6. lordhelpus said,

    Your wish is my command, Richard. It took about a month to git ‘er dun, but – the follow-on piece is now posted. Hope all is well for you, my friend.

  7. lordhelpus said,

    Well, I did! Sorta. New post, Teri! Hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

