Blue Eyed Soul

September 2, 2009 at 12:19 am (Entertainment, General, Music) (, , , , , , )

Apropos of nothing, as they say… this band just sort of popped back up in my memory the other day, and it occurred to me to share their music as a classic example of blue-eyed-soul from the 1970s…

Ladies and gentlemen – the Average White Band!

Not at all bad for a bunch of lads from Scotland! I recall they caused quite the stir at the time, as a few purists considered them to be too Caucasian to properly bring the funk. I disagree. Here, have a slice of cake, and decide for yourself:

Now that I think about it, I probably got to thinking about AWB because my co-worker, Spence, is a member of a Portland funk band called Excellent Gentlemen.

But because I am old, and socially lame, and my car’s broken (again) I have yet to go and see them perform. Yes, I know. I should be horribly shamed. But whatcha gonna do, eh?

Spence, I promise I’ll get out and see the Excellent Gentlemen play. It looks like it will be an amazingly good time. As long as there’s some Guinness for me to drink.

2 Comments

  1. Celebritylife.org said,

    Celebritylife.org tracking back – Blue Eyed Soul…

    Celebritylife.org tracking back – Blue Eyed Soul…

  2. Excellent Gentlemen said,

    The cosmos are aligning around your blog posts!
    Excellent Gentlemen is opening for AWB at the Aladdin Theater in Portland on Wednesday, September 30th!

Leave a Reply

