Sowing The Seeds Of The Walrus

June 30, 2009 at 10:48 pm (Entertainment, General, Media, Music) (, , , , , )

Greetings, fellow music nerds. Allow me to humbly present part two of my side-by-side music comparisons. This time, one of my favorite ’80s bands alongside the most important band of the ’60s.

Tears For Fears released a song called Sowing The Seeds of Love in 1989, and I recently noticed just how much it sounded like The Beatles’ I Am The Walrus…

Now contrast that little melody with the tune by the Fab Four:

Quite a lot of commonality in the whole concept of Sowing the Seeds… the intro, the vocal style, the expression and tempo of the lyrics… For me, the similarities are fairly obvious, but what about you? Feel free to comment below. Take me to task, but be ready to defend your assertions!

Next time, more “dueling ditties” for your entertainment and edification. See you back here in a few days, kids! In the meantime, if you’re not already sick of listening to I Am The Walrus, check out this version, too. I’d never seen this, and I’m old enough to have seen it first time around – had I been paying attention:

I was wondering how they were going to handle the lyrics at 2:32 (you know the one – “been a naughty girl”).  Tell me what you see.

(I… bury… Paul…)

Leave a Reply

