Mega creepy…

January 28, 2007 at 10:43 pm (Cool Tech, General)

Tonight is the premiere of the Discovery Channel’s 2057 series, and it’s making me feel all futuristic and science fictiony-like.  So, as I sit here in my office, watching and blogging, I figure it’s time to comment on this news story. In Israel a few days ago, a woman won the right in court to use her dead son’s sperm to impregnate a woman the son had never met.

Artificial Insemination

Button

Wow. My skin is crawling, and it’s hard to say why. I put myself in the shoes of that son, a soldier killed in Gaza 5 years ago. (Well, okay. That’s a stretch. I am such a chicken shit, I would never have been a soldier.) But let’s say that I was 20 years old, got squashed by a bus, and my mom & dad had decided to have the sperm harvested from my lifeless corpse. Then, because they wanted a grandchild, they found some woman who was willing to be fertilized with my post-mortem spooge. Now, granted I wouldn’t be around to give a damn, or be stuck with support payments, but it’s still ghoulish on a George Romero level. Even more shuddersome than Tom Cruise.

In reality, I never had any kids. Never wanted any. I would have had to look the little bugger in the eye, and tell him or her, “Yep, this world is way fucked up, and I brought you into it nevertheless. Try to get over it.” I didn’t want to have to go through that, or put anyone through it either. Post-mortem sperm extraction takes that choice away from me, or any other man.

Sorry, I just can’t agree with that. Our society necessarily places limits on many of our choices. Some of these limits are sensible, some are specious. Let’s have the wisdom and common sense to know which is which, okay?

If I choose not to bring any kids into the world, that should be the end of it. I wonder what that soldier would have said about what’s going to be done with his DNA?

Leave a Reply

